The Township of South Algonquin‘s Administration Department is responsible for financial matters including accounting, record-keeping, preparing Council agendas and minutes, implementing Council direction and initiatives, website management, elections, communications, by-laws, budgeting and reporting.


Accessible Ontario

The Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2005 (AODA) is a law passed by the Ontario legislature that allows the government to develop and enforce standards for accessibility. The purpose of the AODA is to have a fully accessible Ontario by 2025. In order to achieve this goal, the province is establishing accessibility standards in five different areas:

  • Customer Service
  • Built Environment
  • Information and Communications
  • Transportation, and
  • Employment.

The Accessibility Standard for Customer Service, O. Reg 429/7 was the first standard to become law, and came into effect for the public sector on January 1, 2010.

Accessible Customer Service Policy



Hours: Monday to Friday 8:30 am to 4:00 pm.
Closed on weekends and all statutory holidays.

Organizational Structure

The Township of South Algonquin‘s organizational structure includes a Chief Administrative Officer (CAO) Clerk Treasurer who is supported by a Deputy Clerk and Deputy Treasurer. Together this group maintains the clerk and finance duties of the Township.

Chief Administrative Officer Clerk Treasurer

The CAO portion of the role is responsible for the overall leadership and management of the municipality and ensures programs and services are delivered efficiently and effectively. The CAO also ensures that policies and the direction of Council are implemented, and advises and informs Council on the operation and affairs of the municipality.

All municipal departments report to Council through the CAO.

The CAO oversees and directs the human, financial and physical resources of the Township to ensure Council’s initiatives are met.

The Clerk’s Department provides legislative and administrative support to the matters, procedures and decisions of Council and ensures the statutory requirements of the Municipal Act are met. ​​​​​​The Clerk’s Department prepares and retains official municipal records such as agendas, minutes, by-laws, and legal documents for the Township.

The Clerk also provides a number of statutory services:

  • By-laws
  • Council agendas and minutes
  • Commissioner of Oaths
  • Elections
  • Lottery Licenses
  • Municipal Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act
  • Policies
  • Request to Appear before Council

Deputy Clerk

The Deputy Clerk provides general administrative assistance to Department Heads ensuring that all municipal and legislative policies are met. The Deputy Clerk takes minutes, compiles payroll and accounts receivable and produces reports for Council and Committee meetings. Performs statutory duties and exercises the responsibilities of Deputy Clerk as assigned by the CAO/Clerk-Treasurer as outlined in the Deputy Clerk- job description and in the Municipal Act, 2001.

Deputy Treasurer • Finance Department

The Finance Department performs all responsibilities assigned to the Treasurer in the Municipal Act, 2001 and Statutes on behalf of the municipality and in the manner directed by the Council of the municipality. These responsibilities include all financial affairs of the Township, specifically the annual municipal budget process, multi-year capital financial plan, payroll, accounts payable, accounts receivable, property tax administration, investments, borrowing of funds and any other financial functions that may be required.

The Deputy Treasurer is responsible for keeping Council and Municipal Department Heads informed about relevant financial requirements, budget concerns and other pertinent information.

  • Asset Management Plan
  • Audited Financial Statements
  • Budget
  • Property Taxes
  • Tax Sales

Contact Information

CAO/Clerk Treasurer | Holly Hayes

Phone: 613-637-2650 EXT 202
Cell: 613-334-5923

Deputy Clerk | Carla Gatley

Phone: 613-637-2650 EXT 200

Deputy Treasurer | Jennifer Baragar

Phone: 613-637-2650 EXT 201

Tenders and RFPs

The Township of South Algonquin adheres to our purchasing By-law to ensure fair and transparent procurement processes for the acquisition of goods, services and construction in support of the operations of the Municipality.

The Municipality will acquire goods and services in a manner that complies with this By-law and appropriate purchasing principals for the public sector, reflects a high standard of business ethics, does not favour or discriminate, is cost effective and results in the best value for the Municipality.


none at this time

Well Water Testing

Renfrew County and District Health Unit provides free water testing services for residents of the township. Sample bottles are available at the Health Unit Office, Lorraine’s Pharmasave in Barry’s Bay or at the township office.

Water Sample Drop Off:

Lorraine’s Pharmasave
19566 Opeongo Line
Barry’s Bay

Drop-off times: Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday, before 2:00 p.m.
Samples taken in the morning must be dropped off the same day before 2:00 p.m.

Renfrew County District Health Unit: 1-800-267-1097

For more information, click here for Renfrew County District Health Unit Safe Water